The subject of chakras is a complex one, and people either embrace it whole heartedly or consider it mumbo jumbo. What are the 7 chakras that people talk about? It basically revolves around energy, which allows life to exist in the entire universe. Let’s dive in. 

What does “Chakra” mean?


The word ‘chakra’ comes from Sanskrit, which is an ancient Indian language, and means a circle or a wheel in the literal sense. In the meditational and transformational sense, however, it refers to wheels of energy that are positioned throughout the body along the spine.

When it comes to energy, we often do not understand or grasp the concept completely. The word energy is misinterpreted by many. In simple words, energy refers to the life force that enables us to stay alive. The source of this life force or energy, however, is somewhat ambiguous. Let’s learn more.


What is the Chakra System?


The study/knowledge of chakras aims to point out the source of energy, because if you know the source, you are in a much better position to balance your Chakra System.

Chakra System is a network of channels that connects all the seven chakras or circles of energy in the body. One can say that Chakra System is like a spiritual nervous system. When your spiritual nervous system is running smooth, you have more clarity in life.

Coming back to energy, the Chakra System helps explain its movement, which in turn helps us gain a better understanding of ourselves. Self-awareness is the first step towards a successful life. When you understand yourself and your emotions, you can heal yourself. After all, the only person who can really help you is you.


The 7 Chakras


If you have any familiarity or experience with meditation or yoga, then you must have heard terms such as chakra balancing, chakra healing, and/or chakra cleansing which is the real deal. However, it all begins with learning what the 7 chakras are.

As obvious from the title, there are seven chakras or wheels of energy in the human body that start at the perineum and continue along the spine in a straight line all the way to the top of the head. Each chakra is associated with a specific organ, emotion, and color.

The human body, like all living things, is designed such that all its parts must work in harmony with each other for a healthy and successful life. Chakra healing and balancing provide energy to the different parts of your body and mind in a balanced way. Chakras out of balance cause many problems which we will discuss in another article.


1) Root Chakra – Muladhara


Root chakra is also known as muladhara, which means root support. In order to move

forward in life, it is imperative that you have a strong foundation, which means surviving. Only when your basic necessities are fulfilled can you progress towards other activities.

The first chakra is located at the base of the spine, near the tailbone. It extends to a little below the belly button. Its color is red and it is associated with survival issues.

This chakra is related to feelings of fear and security, financial independence, shelter, and food. The root chakra develops during age 1-7. A balanced root chakra means you are surviving well and have no fear.


2) Sacral Chakra – Svadishana


Svadishana or the sacral chakra is located in the lower abdomen, and it basically means the place of the self. You must look after yourself before you can work towards your aims in life.

The second chakra is associated with the color orange, and feelings of pleasure, well-being, and also sexuality. This chakra houses your creative energy which enables you to indulge in your life here on this world, and the fruits of your labor.

It develops during age 8-14 when you gain more exposure, learn new things, and build your personality. A balanced svadishana means you feel in control of your life, and have a sense of achievement.


3) Solar Plexus Chakra –Manipura


Manipura means the lustrous gem and it is the third chakra in the human body. It refers to feelings of confidence and power.

Located in the upper abdomen, manipura is responsible for the butterflies in your belly, and your gut feelings. It develops during age 15-21 and is associated with the color yellow.

A balanced manipura means you feel powerful and confident in yourself and your dealings with the people around you.


4) Heart Chakra – Anahata


Anahata’s translation is unhurt. This fourth chakra is located over the heart, obviously, and is responsible for our kindness, compassion, and love.

The core of practices like Reiki, yoga, and meditation is focused on self-love. It is because you love yourself that you take out the time for chakra cleansing, chakra healing, and chakra balancing.

Heart chakra is associated with the color green, and health and healing. The fourth chakra is in the center of the human body, and serves as a connection between the upper (associated with heaven and spirituality) chakras, and the lower (associated with the physical world and materialism) chakras.

This chakra develops during ages 21-28, and if yours is in balance, it means that you love yourself, you love others, and your heart is open to the people in your life.


5) Throat Chakra – Vishudda


As you might already have guessed, vishudda or the throat chakra is associated with communication. Vishudda means very pure, and it gives you voice. If your vishudda is in balance, you are able to communicate properly, convey your feelings and opinions most efficiently, and speak with kindness and love to others.

It is located above the heart, where it is also connected to Anahata, allowing you to connect your words with the love and compassion in your heart. It is associated with the color blue, and develops during ages 29-35.


6) Third Eye Chakra – Ajna


As the name suggests, the sixth chakra is our third eye which has no physical appearance, and manifests itself through our intuition and our ability to look at the big picture.

Ajna means beyond wisdom, hence intuition and sixth sense. We gain psychic energy from the third eye chakra. Located between the two eyebrows, ajna is beautiful when in balance; it allows you to be in sync with both the material and the spiritual world.

It is associated with indigo and develops during ages 36-42. Ajna is the eye of your soul and sees things that are hidden from plain sight.


7) Crown Chakra – Sahasrara


Sahasrara means thousand petaled, and this chakra is associated with the kind of energy that is not very easy or simple to explain.

Crown Chakra is made up of consciousness energy. You cannot see it, you can only feel it. It is quite a challenge to get your crown chakra in balance, but not impossible. You just have to open up to the positive energy that the universe sends your way.

Sahasrara is associated with the colors violet and white and develops during ages 43-49. The seventh chakra is located outside the body, at the top of the head. Opening the crown chakra enables you to achieve a higher consciousness – consider it a Buddhist’s nirvana. 

Chakra healing and chakra balancing is truly transformational as it has the power to improve your emotional state by curing your emotional issues, and also the strength to cure physical illness even. All you need to do is believe in yourself and your energy.

Join Our Amazing High Vibe Tribe


Join our community of 500+ women and men around the world.


Get access to our bi-weekly newsletter with the latest blog posts, meditation videos and upcoming programs.


What are you waiting for?

You have Successfully Subscribed!